Military Brat

Standard

Before I moved to Texas, I lived in New York. No, not New York City. I lived in upstate New York. It’s completely different, trust me.

Living in New York sucked. I lived in a small town where everyone knew everyone. Lots of people were actually related. Needless to say, I felt very out of place.

Then I moved to Texas. Before I moved, my mom kept saying the same thing over and over again. “You’re going to be in for a huge culture shock.” I thought this was really stupid. I’m a military brat, how could I be in for a culture shock?? I’ve been everywhere. Well, all over the United States, at least.

She also told me that I was going to get bullied. When she wasn’t making me think that I was about to move to the worst place ever where I’d never fit in or feel happy, she’d tell me that I’d be fine and I’d make friends easily. I thought, “Wait a minute. How are you going to tell me that I’m going to get bullied one day, and then tell me I’ll be fine the next.”

I ended up dreading coming to Texas.

However, when I got here, it was nothing like I was expecting. Sure, I get bullied. I mean I’m a white kid living in a border city to Mexico. So yes, I get called cracker and gringa and people make fun of me for my skin tone. But that’s not everyone. I made quite a few friends who were good to me.

I didn’t feel culture shock. I felt normal, it was just another experience and I’m used to being thrown into situations where I have to adjust, so I didn’t really have to try to do anything to feel comfortable.

I used to dread leaving New York, but now I realize that it’s the best thing to ever happen to me.

-Raine

3 thoughts on “Military Brat

  1. When I moved from Texas to D.C. and Maryland I was called a wigger, which was definitely a first lol I already identified with being an oreo so I wasn’t offended but it is interesting to see how race is viewed in different places. What branch were your parents in?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m an Air Force Brat, i also shift from one city to another after every 2-3 years, though i lived for 3 years in China too. Shifting alot is as annoying as it is exciting. U get to meet alot of people from different places and have multiple experiences 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

