Separation Anxiety

Standard

Separation Anxiety is defined as “an anxiety disorder in which an individual experiences excessive anxiety regarding separation from home or from people.”

Separation Anxiety sucks. I have it, but not when it comes to my parents. I get anxiety over being away from my boyfriend. I know cliché. But… he’s not just my boyfriend. He’s also my absolute best friend. Even before we were close and dating, he was always there for me. In fact, when I was going through my toughest times, he was the ONLY one there for me. I care for him so much. He’s the only one who can calm me down and make me feel safe.

When I’m with him, everything gets better. When I’m not, I feel kinda down. I know it sounds bad, but I never make plans with other people, just in case he wants to go do something. It’s shitty I know. He just means the world to me and I love him so much.

 

Now, separation anxiety can apply to anyone or anything. You can have it over pets, parents, friends, significant others, your home, even stuffed animals or certain blankets.

Separation Anxiety can be treated with anti-anxiety medication, or it can be treated by seeing a therapist and talking through it. It doesn’t even have to be a therapist. You can talk through it with your parents or another adult.

-Raine

3 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

Leave a Reply

