Dear Anorexia

Standard

Dear Anorexia,

I used to think you were my friend. I listened to you when you whispered in my ear. You were the only one there for me.

You pushed me to be “better.” You told me I wasn’t good enough. If I wanted to be happy, I had to get skinny. If I wanted to be skinny, I had to starve.

You ruined me. You were never my friend, you were the reason all of my friends left me.

So, fuck you. I don’t need you. I never did. I am so much better than you made me think I was. I am happy without you, and I learned that I don’t have to be skinny to be happy.

Saying goodbye to you has been one of the best choices I’ve ever made.  And I don’t plan on taking it back.

-Raine

Leave a Reply

